Canon Inc. rape, feature requests, and why the Canon EOS 6D sucks balls

Man what a weekend. What a weekend! Things are just so hectic around here I barely get any time to update the blog. But I have to do this update today because my previous post about Canon Inc. raping us all didn’t come across very well with some of my contacts at Canon Inc. To be honest, this happens quite often, but this time I feel that their criticisms do have some validity.

Yeah, it’s true that the 5D Mark III could be enabled to do all kinds of advanced stuff, as the guys from Magic Lantern have shown recently with their RAW video update. However, it may not be reasonable to expect Canon Inc. to just implement and enable any and all possibilities on such a camera. It takes quite a lot of work to implement and test functionality on a camera, and adding features — sometimes what may seem as even minor features — could simply mean a lot of additional engineering work, not to mention testing and Q/A work. And at some point you just have to stop adding stuff and release the product. Otherwise you could go on adding and developing to infinity.

So yeah, maybe I was a little too hard on them in the previous post. Especially since Canon Inc. has shown us in recent years that they do listen. But during the discussion I also mentioned, and we talked about, the possibility of releasing an SDK along with some of our products that would enable other people to more easily extend their functionalities, and even introduce new ones, and basically add value to our products without us having to do very much ourselves. Wouldn’t it be nice if the guys at Magic Lantern, for example, could just use such an officially supported SDK to build cool new features everyone, including Canon Inc. could benefit from — instead of having to hack into and reverse engineer the products?

A company famous for using this strategy for many years now is Microsoft. They’ve been handing out development tools and sample code to software developers for free for years. And look how that has worked out for them. All kinds of programs exist within Microsoft for independent software vendors to get free software licenses to get them started building cool new software for the Windows platform. Sometimes you can even get some funding in addition to free licenses. This leads to more interesting software that runs on their platform, which leads to more value, which leads to more users, which leads to market share and sales, which leads to $$$$$.

With an official SDK from Canon Inc., developers could build on top of our existing products and add value to them, adding all kinds of stuff we couldn’t add ourselves, eventually leading to more interesting products and more customers. There are so many cool benefits I just don’t want to name them all here for the competition to steal.

And you’re not going to believe this, but I had this discussion last week, and lo and fucking behold, I almost fell off of my chair this morning when I saw that Samsung is already releasing the code for their cameras to open source developers.

Canon Inc. needs to act fast man. Who the fuck wants to develop for Samsung anyway? Their platform sucks balls. EOS is where the fucking power lies in this industry, as the guys from Magic Lantern have clearly demonstrated. If we had an official SDK out, people would be all over it.

Now, having said all of the above, this still doesn’t change the fact that for many features, Canon Inc. IS GUILTY of dumbing down and crippling products fucking INTENTIONALLY. That needs to be said. It’s just that it’s unreasonable to expect them to add all features that a product could be capable of supporting.

Just look at the goddamn 6D. I still haven’t written a post dedicated to this camera because honest to God, as soon as I think about this camera I get fucking depressed. Was it really neccessary to put a sync speed of 1/180th on it? Honestly? The fucking 5D Mark III is already crippled with 1/200th sync speed. Why in God’s name was it neccessary to go to 1/180th sync on the 6D?

And you know what pains me the most about this? Just a few days before the release of the 6D, I was on Twitter smacktalking The Lord of the Speedlights about how we already had built-in wireless capabilities via RT on our flashes, and how we’re going to show him that the 5D Mark IV would even have a 1/500th sync speed in the future.

Twitter discussion

Twitter discussion

And then, just a few days later, Canon Inc. totally fucking lets me down with the 6D and announces it with a sync speed even worse than the D600. When in fact I’m sure the sensor in the 6D would be quite able to handle at least a 1/200th sync speed. I’m just glad The Lord of the Speedlights apparently isn’t aware of this, and never replied to my last tweet to publicly laugh at me and rub the 6D fuckup in. That would have been quite embarrassing.

This kind of intentional crippling of products is just not necessary man. Seriously. The same thing can be said about the 9-point piece of fucking shit autofocus system on the 6D. I keep saying this, but who the fuck releases a camera with a fucking 9-point AF system these days? Honestly? Not only that, but with just one goddamn cross-type point in the center? Really man, that was just not necessary. The 6D could have benefitted from at least the AF system from the 7D. Releasing it the way it is right now at that price is simply criminal behavior. Even the image quality was purposely degraded.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, don’t waste your money on a 6D. Get a Nikon D600, or save some more to get the 5D Mark III. Just pretend the 6D doesn’t exist.

Apart from the 1/500th sync on the 5D Mark IV, I’ve also told Canon Inc. that people want exposure metering linked to the selected AF point. Those of you who have been continuing to spam my inbox with this request, please stop. I know about it, I’ve told Japan, and I keep reminding them. Emailing me about it every other day isn’t going to help right now.

And the same also goes for second curtain sync on our new 600EX-RT flash system when using the wireless capabilities. I already told Japan you guys want that feature. Honest to God, I don’t know why it was left out. Please stop asking me. And the same also goes for being able to set the flash zoom setting on the slaves wirelessly from the master or the ST-E3-RT. This one boggles the mind, I agree. Canon Inc. added the capability to set flash power levels from the master and the ST-E3-RT, but somehow forgot to also let you set the zoom setting wirelessly. So if you want to change the zoom setting on your flashes, you still have to fucking walk up to each and every one of them and do it manually, defeating the entire point of having wireless control over them.

I hope to God that they add these features soon via some kind of firmware update because the kind of emails I receive on these issues almost daily would make even Joe McNally blush uncomfortably while reading.

I’ll be back soon with more. In the mean time keep spamming your local Canon reps with these feature requests!

21 thoughts on “Canon Inc. rape, feature requests, and why the Canon EOS 6D sucks balls

  1. Fucking shit Chuck, it was about time:

    1 – Someone raped you.
    2 – You acknowledge that the 6D is bullshit, a step below the already bullshitty D600…
    3 – Someone speaks aloud ’bout the companies we support and maintain, they are simply dishonest with all of us loyal costumers.

    Keep it up my friend…

  2. I would never think about buying the 6D no thanks, but my 5D III is awesome. Here is what I would like from Canon as they do listen when people complained about canon not having multiple exposure in their cameras they listened and now they do great, it is even better than Nikons multiple exposure as is canons HDR in camera, but here is my gripe from the 5D III, I do long exposures and canon gives us a stupid rubber piece to close off the viewfinder LOL so silly, so please tell them to make an extra part so we can buy and install that, because I will not use the crap rubber part or nor put a hat over my viewfinder, BTW 5D III is a pro camera and needs those things, so please Canon make that part for us;)

  3. Chuck… i must be sign this wrong: under Canon USA web site, under 5diii there is a downloadable SDK kit, quote: “The Canon Digital Camera SDKs are designed for computer programmers who wish to develop customized software applications for Canon digital cameras” –> is this the real thing for developers make the real stuuf come alive? or is just other Canon BS?

    cheers
    E.

  4. Man, nikon is really sucking the shit of of random dudes assholes lately. I was tooling around over on nikon rumors and got banned because I told them nikon needs to up its game in the video arena. Those fuck sticks are actually pissed that the D800 even does video at all. What the fuck is wrong with you nikon morons. For real. Bunch of old farts.

      • Typical Nikon dickhead making idiotic statements. Nikon morons love to feel smug. One dude over on Nikon Rumors put crazy glue over the record button on his D800 and said if Nikon wont disable that feature, I will. Very likely while beating his chest. This is the level of stupidity I have to deal with as a Nikon shooter. Nikon people are old cunts and pansy ass faggots.

      • And Canon shooters are retards that buy still frame cameras to shoot video…

  5. I wish someone would start a site called fake joe McNally or some shit. What fake chuck has done here has helped canon finally build a decent camera. Fake McNally could talk about how we get autofocus points that don’t work, oil spots on our sensors and sub par video.

  6. Nikon just released the Nikon D610. It makes the crappy D600 obviously become the shortest life. FF camera in the history. Shame on Nikon, instead of admit the “oil splashed sensor” problem and recall the Defected D600 for repairing, they just release the new model to cover the story. Check it out at DPP.

  7. Pingback: Youngnuo shows Canon Inc. how it’s done | Fake Chuck Westfall

  8. The AF downgrade sucks just for knowing that they don’t save or make a significant buck by deploying this way. It’s the old backward logic of not wanting to cannibalize their upmarket product. This strategy never works. Never. So far this has not made a big effect on me but I shoot buildings and things that can be manually focused. I’m concerned about your image quality comment. Do you believe they suppressed the image capture ability of the sensor? How? That sounds like more work than it’s worth. Please explain in as best a detail as you can. Your plan for me to switch to Nikon is useless. I’m 9g into the Canon lenses (accumulated over 10 yrs). I only make about 15k a year from photo ventures so the difference between spending on a 5D3 and the 6 (Which I bought) is reasonable.

Leave a comment