Happy Birthday to Helen Oster @ Adorama

Today is Helen Oster’s (@HelenOster) birthday and I wanted to dedicate this special post to her. Yesh, yesh, the very shensual, the verri toit… Helen Oster from Adorama.

Adorama's Birthday card to Helen

Adorama's Birthday card to Helen

If you don’t know who Helen Oster is, let me tell you that she’s mainly the reason why I shop at Adorama. If you are a regular reader, you know that I ordered my retail copies of the world’s best DSLR, the 5D Mark III, at Adorama a while ago. And it’s because of the fact that I know Helen is there when I need her and that she’ll do the best she can to help me when I need it. And trust me on this, Helen often goes out of her way to help. Not just me, but customers in general. She has really earned her excellent online reputation as Adorama’s Customer Service Ambassador. Reading that post on Adorama’s blog brought tears to my eyes.

For a few years now Helen has been Adorama’s secret weapon on the Internet. I’ve been following her ever since I started this blog and I’ve referred people to her since 2008 and without any exception she’s always managed to make them happy. Check this post of mine from 2008, where she had just helped out Thomas Hawk to get his 5D Mark II. Or this one, where she joined the conversation to offer her help.

Just recently I relied on her help again, and although I can’t go into details, let me say that she went out of her way to help me in ways that I would never have expected.

I’m very happy to see that Adorama recognizes the enormous value that Helen brings to the company. It really should not be underestimated. It would not surprise me one bit if many of the customers on the Internet shopped at Adorama because of Helen. Hell, I already know customers buy at Adorama because of me. And I don’t come even close to 1% of the dedication Helen puts into this.

FCW Influence

Coincidence? I think not...

I may not have as much influence as Helen online, but as you can clearly see in the screenshot above, I do contribute a little to Adorama’s success. (I hope Henry Posner doesn’t see this.)

We live at a time when customer service is one of the most important things a company can use to set itself apart from others. And this goes for many industries today and will only become even more so over time. Hell, in many industries it’s essentially the only thing you have to differentiate yourself. And with Helen, Adorama has a very big advantage in this area.

Helen, thank you for all your help, your time, your patience and your kindness. I wish you a wonderful, happy and memorable birthday. If I could, I would give you a very long, warm hug that would last at least 10 minutes (even longer if it doesn’t make you feel weird). Who knows, maybe some day I’ll be able to. Lots of love from me. ♥

20 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Helen Oster @ Adorama

      • Hey Chucky, I think you are Bryan Carnathan considering his site with pictures of all NIkon gear loaded up but still haven’t gotten any of them reviewed for over a year. At one time you posted Nikon were buying Canon and threatened switching to Nikon if Canon couldn’t pony up, remember? The timing seemed to coincide with his upload of Nikon gear images in his site. Guess what? Bryan still hasn’t reviewed any Nikon gear but continued with Canon gear review. So he must be busy like you with Canon goodies. Coincidence or separated at birth?

      • I’m afraid I can’t comment on your conspiracy theories. Sounds interesting though.

  1. Fake Chuck – you are one of a kind and yet you pale before Helen. She truly does seem to be a rock star. She may not be human. Actually you may not be human. And yet the photography world needs you both. Well we need her at least – we’re still debating about you. No, no – we need you. Whew.

    • No man, you’re right. Helen is much bigger than I’ll ever be. But at least I get to bash camera manufacturers without mercy.

    • Darn it.

      You got me.

      I am a bot.

      At least, the number of times I’m asked to copy something ridiculously incomprehensible into one of those frustrating little CAPTCHA boxes, it’s clear that something or somebody thinks that I am……..

      • From the way you show up everywhere on the Internet, it wouldn’t surprise me one bit if you were some kind of NSA/DIA artificial intelligence technology experiment.

  2. Well it’s been awhile since Helen’s birthday Fakie, when are you going to update ur blog? Or have u performed seppuku on yourself since realising Canon is still 3-4 years behind Nikon?

Leave a comment