Happy New Year!

Man I almost peed my pants while laughing just now. I went on Snapsort to find some information, did a comparison between the Nikon D7000 and the Canon EOS 7D just to see what would happen, and got the following result:

Snapsort recommends the Nikon D7000

Snapsort recommends the Nikon D7000

The thing that really made me laugh was the text at the bottom where it says that “this recommendation should be taken with a grain of salt since it doesn’t always make sense to compare a pro DSLR with an entry-level DSLR.” And obviously in this case the 7D is the pro DSLR and it is losing to the D7000 which is positioned much closer to entry-level! If this doesn’t show you just how much Canon has lost it in the last few years, then nothing ever will. It’s a goddamn tragedy.

Bradley Cooper and Chase Jarvis (right) - Separated at birth?

Nikon really blew everyone away with the D7000. They even brought in Chase Jarvis (Wedding Crashers, The Hangover) again for the viral marketing on launch day, just like they did for the D90 back in 2008. The amount of energy this guy brought to the launch of the D7000 could have sold a George Foreman Grill in hell. I’ve said it before and I’ll keep saying it in the future, the man is on crack 24/7. I’m kind of ashamed to admit that even I was blown away. I knew the 60D was fucked, but to be honest, nobody could have predicted this amount of fuckage. None of the statistics and intelligence we had here at Canon indicated that this level of devastation would be upon us.

Snapsort Recommends the Nikon D7000

Snapsort recommends the Nikon D7000

The D7000 was supposed to be in the same class as the 60D. Not only is it not in the same class as the 60D feature-wise, but it even blows away the 7D! And you have to keep in mind that the 7D retails for $1800 while the D7000 retails for $1200! This means that if you buy the 7D, you pay $600 more for inferiority. Moses has all the details here. I’m not going to repeat all of that, but for us here at Canon the release of the D7000 was the equivalent of the attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941. It remains to be seen if Canon Inc. in Japan will be able to put up a fight in the future, or if they’ll just continue to take this ass-whooping like the pussies that they are. I’m afraid the same will happen again with the 5D Mark III and the D800 this year. I’ve been having nightmares about this and wake up screaming at night. My wife is worried sick. But knowing Canon Inc. and how they like to intentionally dumb down products, and seeing how Nikon is basically throwing everything they’ve got into the game with each new DSLR, I have every reason to be afraid.

So anyway, it’s a new year, so let’s not think about Canon Inc.’s stupidity for the sake of trying to be positive and optimistic, and let us hope that things will be a lot better for us Canon folks this year. I start working again tomorrow, but I’ll try to make some more time this year for blogging. I did only 8 posts in 2010 and that’s a bit low, even though there were some very long posts in there. To be honest, it wasn’t so much that I was busy playing with my new Nikon gear. I was just so depressed because of all the issues we were having. Seriously, we kept taking hit after hit from Nikon and I was just so frustrated by our internal bureaucracy and the stupid fucks in Tokyo who just don’t want to listen. But I promise I’ll do my best to blog more often this year. See you again soon!

11 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Well fake chuck. I think it’s not the canon fault … its the owners of canon fault … Who own the Canon …

    It is the virtual competition … And you you sure are promoting brand switching … It’ll probably take a few years to Canon suck back its market if sony will not start to take more of market. Doesn’t matter – Sony made big investments to new sensors and is becoming a big player.

    It is not good for the banks ( brand owners ) to invest big $$ into canon/nikon/sony brands at the same time … One brand has to suck market from other brands … Lets take all money away from f-ing consumers…!

    And here you come, keeping up the brand switching support🙂

  2. http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_EOS_60D-vs-Nikon_D90 – Quite interesting that in this comparision the 60D only just edges out the old D90 by two points . Guess we can rule by that logic Canon might be an entire generation behind Nikon in the high end consumer market….

    Seriously , I do think the D7000 v 7D comparison is a bit misleading in much the same way as the D7000 v D300s one. The latter models have higher FPS and higher buffers and better handling bodies though I’d probably say the D7k and 7D are about the same in terms of body construction…

    • Though I find this site humorous and entertaining, and feel for you Mr. Westfall; I thought I would point out that Snapsort provides the same feedback no matter what SLR is compared. So I think you may have read too much into this.
      Yes, Canon has fallen asleep at the wheel and yes I’m really irked about this whole 9-point focusing system that’s been in place since the 40D, but I find myself in a bind as I have invested too much into Canon glass and until they come out with a decent semi-pro body, me thinks I’ll hang onto my little 450D. As nice as the 7D is, I would have preferred better ISO and dynamic range over a larger sensor!

      • The 7D is positioned as a pro DSLR and the D7000 is positioned as pro-sumer. So it doesn’t matter if the feedback is displayed for all DSLRs. In this comparison it is funny because the pro DSLR loses to the pro-sumer DSLR when you would have expected otherwise. But I agree with you about the 7D!

  3. Pingback: Is Nikon the new Canon? « Fake Chuck Westfall

Leave a Reply

