Tech Tips for God knows when

This is to let you know that my November Tech Tips have been published over at the Digital Journalist.

And I also answered some other questions from users, which got posted on DPReview, and which I am publishing again below:

Mr. Westfall,

Thanks for making yourself available for this.

Can you tell us how many stops of high ISO (1600-3200) noise improvement there is with the 50D versus the 40D? For RAW given equal NR settings? For JPG?

At default camera settings for in-camera JPEGs, and assuming equalized output sizes in order to gain the benefit of the EOS 50D’s increased resolution, there is approximately a 1 stop improvement in noise reduction for the 50D compared to the 40D. Run the comparisons and see for yourself. For RAW images, the difference in image quality between the two cameras is almost entirely dependent on the user’s choice of processing techniques.

Hi Chuck,

Thank you so much for taking your time out for this Q/A.

I don’t mean to be rude with this question but I hope you do get a chance to answer this.

1. Would you share any light on what happened with the 50D release? and High ISO noise levels compared to 40D? There has been much discussion and evidence showing that the 50D is worse.

Canon has directly stated a 1.5 stop noise advantage over 40D…..This is hardly true…

I myself am a proud 40D and 50D owner, I too notice this difference, done many tests etc with it. Having spent so much money and blindly upgrading by Trusting Canon, I kind of do feel hurt a little. As Image Quality is the most important than ANY OTHER FEATURE.

No doubt, I still support Canon fully and have invested so much money but knowing this trust I was hoping for better support and trust back from canon.

Again thanks and sorry if this comes across the wrong way….

Jay

Hi, Jay:

Thanks for your message. I agree with you that the improvement of image quality is a top priority for any new EOS Digital SLR. My statement of an approximate 1 to 1.5 stop improvement in noise levels for EOS 50D vs. 40D was made on the basis of the default settings for image quality with both cameras, in other words Large/Fine JPEGs. As I stated in my answer to question 70 above:

“At default camera settings for in-camera JPEGs, and assuming equalized output sizes in order to gain the benefit of the EOS 50D’s increased resolution, there is approximately a 1 stop improvement in noise reduction for the 50D compared to the 40D. Run the comparisons and see for yourself. For RAW images, the difference in image quality between the two cameras is almost entirely dependent on the user’s choice of processing techniques.”

Independent tests of the EOS 50D’s image quality are starting to appear on many different web sites, including the Imaging Resource. Shawn Barnett says: “Judging from our test images, Canon has indeed managed to improve image quality while raising ISO and increasing resolution at the same time.”

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/E50D/E50DA.HTM

The same web page also displays a direct comparison of EOS 50D vs. EOS 40D set to Large/Fine JPEG at ISO 3200, with 100% pixel magnification crops, as well as a comparison of each of the 50D’s High ISO noise reduction settings when used at ISO 3200. Both of these comparisons do a good job of showing users real-world examples of the image quality from the EOS 50D, at least to the extent that’s it’s possible to do so on the Web. The 50D vs. 40D comparison in particular shows that both the accuracy of color reproduction and the level of detail are similar for bothe cameras, while noise is noticeably reduced with the 50D. The only area where the comparison falls short is that it does not equalize the output size to realize the benefits of the 50D’s increased resolution. However, printing the files to an equal size would accomplish that objective and make the comparison as fair as possible.

To summarize, the EOS 50D’s improvement in image quality compared to the EOS 40D at ISO 3200 is clear and demonstrable at each camera’s default settings for in-camera JPEGs when output size is equalized. That was the basis of my original statement when the 50D was announced, and I believe the results speak for themselves.

—————

So I hope this clears up the whole “Westfall said the 50D has a stop to a stop and a half better noise performance than the 40D” problem. I only meant it for the jpeg output, which is getting raped by Dig!c 4 to make it look less noisy. If you actually compare RAW images from the 50D and the 40D, the 50D is worse, ofcourse, but you are free to use software like Noise Ninja to rape the image data yourself as much as you like to get better results, which is what I meant by saying “For RAW images, the difference in image quality between the two cameras is almost entirely dependent on the user’s choice of processing techniques.”

I hope once again that this is very clear for everyone, and please stop spamming me with nonsense questions about noise on the 50D. I have more important things to take care of.

In other news, the 40D is currently selling for about $850 right now through various dealers. I know this is good news for our users, but this is very bad marketing for Canon. I mean, if we sell the 40D for $850 now, what does that tell people about our price of $1400 when it was released? What does it tell people about the $1400 release price of the 50D? Yep, you guessed it. WAY OVERPRICED. I asked Tokyo again this morning if they think our users are stupid. Now people know we can sell the 50D at $850 and still make a profit. Heck, drop the price a little, maybe to $1100 or something, but not $850!! Otherwise it’s too obvious we’re raping people and milking the market. Anyhow, I’m just glad we’re not doing this for our 1D bodies. Although, many people did wonder how the 21MP 5D Mark II can cost just $2700 when the 1Ds Mark III costs a wallet-raping $8000…

And finally, it looks like someone cancelled their 5D Mark II order and went for a Nikon D700. Can’t say I’m surprised. The man has some good arguments, sure Nikon’s 14-24 and 24-70 lenses are better than ours, I’ll give them that, but I don’t agree with his comments about the 5D2’s autofocus. I said a while ago that the 5D2’s autofocus capabilities surpass even our 1D bodies.

Alright, that’s it for now.

6 thoughts on “Tech Tips for God knows when

  1. Hi Fake Chuck,

    I would like to know what Canon is going to do about the BIG Nikon announcement coming in Feb? There is also some reports of Nikon making some announcements in early December in Europe, having booked simultaneous locations in several European cities on the same day.

    The Nikon onslaught is just non-stop. While Nikon powers on, Canon just gives us mediocore bodies and more Mps. I can’t upgrade to FF cos the 9pt AF is a joke. And I don’t want 1 series weight and bulk.

    The first L glass I bought the 70-200 2.8 IS I had to return cos it was soft on one side and sharp on the other. I also fails to focus at some focal lengths. At 135mm its in focus but looks like its got some mild Hoya Starlight filter over the lens… really really bad.

    I’m convinced Canon doesn’t do any QC anymore.

    Had to return my first G10 as it has a damaged CCD which shows up as a line in every frame. I’m not kidding. I have the CR2 files to prove it!

    My 2nd G10 has a distorted peephole, I mean the viewfinder. But I’m just too tired. Decided I’ll live with this one and maybe fix it near end of warranty.

    Dan

  2. Pingback: Tech Tips for yo’ mama « Fake Chuck Westfall

  3. Well it’s not that bad. It looks like d700 price has dropped under 2500$ on BH and is little over 2500$ at amazon. Looks like someone is trembling🙂

    Another thing
    Looks like Nikon is not immune to AF issues ether. Look at this thread:

    http://photo.net/nikon-camera-forum/00RWJC

    it’s hilarious to me. It’s about portrait photographers on the one side and Nikon D700 AF issues on the other. So I must ask myself; how stupid can you be to fuck up AF in studio environment.

    I think that every camera factory in Japan has to have some kind of Maeda clone. It’s fucking law in Japan.

    But look at it from the bright side. If those big boys continue to fight like this. We should have perfect camera in 5 years for 999$.

    Fight boys, Fight!

  4. Pingback: Canon USA Fuckup Notices « Fake Chuck Westfall

Leave a Reply

