EOS 50D Price Drops and 5D Mark II Availability

Well upper management is beginning to feel the heat around here, so they’ve decided to drop the 50D price with $100 and are now offering an additional $100 instant rebate through certain dealers. Check it out on B&H.

I’m not ashamed to admit this. Anyone who has some common sense knows that you don’t drop prices like that without any reason just a month after availability of a product.

Galbraith was also bugging me again earlier this week about the 5D Mark II, so I told him it would be available by the end of this month. Notice that I didn’t mention how many would be available though. But let me assure you that unless you are at the very top of the waiting lists, you had better count on availability by the end of February 2009.

And you didn’t get this from me, but if you do actually wait till early next year to get your 5D Mark II, you should expect to pay significantly less. Just look what happened to the 50D price.😉

9 thoughts on “EOS 50D Price Drops and 5D Mark II Availability

  1. “but if you do actually wait till early next year to get your 5D Mark II, you should expect to pay significantly less. Just look what happened to the 50D price.”

    I doubt it. The 50D might become cheaper iin a likelyhood due to bad reviews… Apparently it blows chunks. The 5D Mk II on the other hand looks like it is going to be a half-decent camcorder..er…camera.. so I would be pretty surprised to see it drop that early in its production run. But with Canon running things they way they have been as of late, who knows…

  2. Well since I’m being very open on this blog, it’s not really a secret that at $2700 the 5D Mark II is way overpriced. If we sold it for $2000 we’d still be making profits.
    There are some market developments on the short term that will force the price down, such as Nikon releasing their 24MP camera later this month, and us releasing the 1D Mark IV next year.

  3. Damn! I leave on Dec 2 to backpack Europe for 3 months and I was hoping to get either the 1D3 or 5D2 before I left but now I guess that choice is obvious. Darn because I do like the movie mode on the 5D, than I wouldn’t need to bring a video camera!

  4. Pingback: Canon EOS 50D riduzione di prezzo negli USA « Photomic

  5. @Justin: Considering the ammount of memory cards you’re gonna have to carry to record some decent quantity of time I think a camcorder would be more suitable.

  6. Noir

    Given my previous post, I’m opting for the 1D mark 3 now which means I will be bringing along a camcorder. But the Camcorder is mainly only there for shits and giggles. Its nice to have a a lapse into nostalgia once in awhile within the medium of film but when dealing with a moment in time I do not think a camcorder can do justice to that moment when compared to Camera.🙂 .
    Bah! I only bring two 2 gig cards with me and a 120 gig stand alone data storage device with a 1 gig/minute transfer rate!
    (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/524058-REG/Sanho_SAHDCS120_120GB_HyperDrive_COLORSPACE_Portable.html)

  7. Pingback: Tech Tips for yo’ mama « Fake Chuck Westfall

  8. its nice to have a a lapse into nostalgia once in awhile within the medium of film but when dealing with a moment in time I do not think a camcorder can do justice to that moment when compared to Camera.

Leave a Reply

