Tech Tips for October 13, 2008

With all the issues I’m facing I didn’t think I would find the time to even do a Tech Tips post this week. I don’t know how many of you are reading the comments of previous posts, but for those of you who don’t, Michael Newler AKA Captain Explorer has left some interesting comments in last week’s Tech Tips. As you may know, Michael was at Canon a few years ago, and he was the one who created the Canon “Explorers of Light” program. His comments aren’t very optimistic, and I have to admit, very realistic, but I’m not going to give up easily.

Anyway, let’s get on with this week’s Tech Tips:

miss westfall, don’t you think your emplyees are wankin off too much at work ?

First of all, have you ever heard of a woman named Chuck? Seriously? Would you ever think of naming your daughter Chuck? Would you want a girlfriend or a wife named Chuck? How in God’s name can you think I’m a woman? What is wrong with you people??
With regards to your question, I don’t think all our employees are wanking off too much at work, but I do think a significant number of them, including most of our management, is indeed wanking off too much at work. In fact, one time I entered Maeda‘s office without knocking and he quickly turned around in his chair facing away from me yelling “Geesas Westfall, you are not know how knocking?!?” while I heard the sound of him zipping up his pants. Then he turned around again and quickly clicked a few times with his mouse, probably closing some windows, opened a drawer and took the pack of tissue on his desk and put it inside. I felt uncomfortable being in his presence for the rest of the week.

Dear mister Fake Chuck Westfall,
I’m a proud owner of a Canon EOS 350D dslr, despite liking this beautiful little camera, I’m searching for a decent upgrade in the semi-pro xxD series cameras.
Everyone (except some Canon fanboys, how take pleasure on playing denial and calling troll to everyone who’s not happy with your companies products) seems to clearly see, there isn’t one, so do you think I should go for a Nikon D300? Or should I wait for a (50D with movie mode) 60D “upgrade”?
ps.: I should note, that I don’t care for movie mode and fullframe, so that should help out in your reply!!

When I started doing these Tech Tips columns back in 2005, I stated right from the start that they would be brand neutral, and would never be used to promote Canon products. So when I tell you that, right now, your best choice would be a Nikon D300 if you can afford it, you can be assured that I really mean that. This camera has the best balance between features and image quality. If the D300 is not within your budget, then you might want to consider a EOS 40D which currently will give you the best value for your money. You can always wait for the 50D to drop in price early next year as well, along with the 40D. As an alternative, since you seem pretty satisfied using a 350D, which I would consider crap by today’s standards, you can also go the Ken Rockwell route and buy yourself a few cheapass Fuji Quicksnap disposable cameras and knock yourself out. Maybe you could even do a few professional wedding shoots with them and out-KenRockwell Ken Rockwell himself.

I’ve also published more Tech Tips at The Digital Journal this month. Check it out.

Thanks for reading Tech Tips. That’s it for now. Remember to email your questions to fcwestfall@gmail.com or leave a comment in this post. See you next week!

6 thoughts on “Tech Tips for October 13, 2008

  1. Canon fanboys? You sound like a troll leaping to your own conclusions about people’s motivations. I’ve a 50D and spent the time tuning it and it fits me just fine. If it doesn’t fit you, state specifics and what you need and why and not just some lousy spewing of invective.

    Relax more and have a nice life.

  2. Fake Chuck, I was having a play with a D3 the other day and noticed it has a sepia picture style on it. Thought it was brilliant, would love to be able to convert RAW’s to sepia either in camera or in DPP afterwards.
    Any chance of talking your little buddies over at Canon HQ to write some new firmware for my 1d3 and maybe also add it to the next DPP update ?

  3. Hi Chuck,

    You know with idiots the likes of Maeda, I think Canon will be better off without him. Think of all the kick-a products Canon will be capable of unleashing if only we’ve got competent management. Perhaps you’ll be able to fill his role. Its big shoes but hey somebody’s got to do it. Who else but someone who knows and shares what Canon users really want.

    Hope you press on and stay on at Canon!

    Daniel

    BTW, lets continue to put the pressure on Maeda, maybe he or one of his underlings are reading this….

  4. “BTW, lets continue to put the pressure on Maeda, maybe he or one of his underlings are reading this…”

    Can they read english? If not, then Chuck, get someone who translates to Japanese and shove it down their email boxes😉

  5. Pingback: Canon USA Fuckup Notices « Fake Chuck Westfall

Leave a Reply

